Regent Brass and Regent Community Brass both had a very enjoyable and productive day at the SCABA Autumn Contest on 30th September, held at The Hawth theatre in Crawley.

Regent Community Band Crawley

Regent Community Band at The Hawth in Crawley after Scaba Autumn Contest.

For RCB it was their first contest outing, having only formed in June, and the band competed in the Second Section performing the recently revised version of “Variations on Laudate Dominum” by Edward Gregson. The band produced a very confident performance of this piece which went down well with the audience and supporters in the hall! The band were placed a very creditable 5th out of 10 bands which all concerned were very pleased with!

Regent Community Band Rehearsal

Regent Community Band Rehearsal at Horsham Band Room


Regent Brass performed later in the day in the Championship Section against a very strong field of bands but produced a really exciting and tidy performance of “Year of the Dragon” by Philip Sparke. The band and conductor left the stage very happy with how they played and fortunately adjudicator Denis Wilby agreed, placing the band 3rd out of 8 bands overall and also picking up the prize for “Best Bass Section” and “Best Instrumentalist” which was awarded to trombonist Tetsuro Okamura for his fantastic playing in the second movement.

Regent Brass Crawley 2012

Regent Brass prepare to perform Year of the Dragon in Crawley September 2012

All in all, a very pleasant day was had by all and both bands enjoyed the experience of performing these pieces at the contest.

The band would like to thank the guests who helped us out on the day.

Full Results

scaba Autumn Contest
30th September 2012
The Hawth, Crawley

Second Section Adjudicator John Roberts
Band Conductor Draw
1 Olney Town Brass Ed Keeley 3
2 Battle Town Jon Penton 8
3 Medway Concert Brass John Campbell 12
4 Epsom & Ewell Silver Jack Smith 4
5 Regent Community Brass Alan Duguid 10
6 LGB Brass Ian Stewart 5
7 Wantage Silver B Danny Dullforce 7
8 Cold Ash Jemma Evans 11
9 Shanklin Town Malcolm Lewis 6
10 Snowdown Colliery Brass Keith Twyman 9
W Hangleton Richard Baker 1
W Cranbrook Town Ian Lanceley 2

Best Instrumentalist Martin Mills – Soprano – Olney Town Brass
Best Horn Section Battle Town
Best Horn Cheryl Goodsell – Battle Town
Best Percussion Section Medway Concert Brass
Conductors Prize Ed Keeley – Olney Town Brass

 Championship Section Adjudicator Dennis Wilby

Band Conductor Draw
1 Wantage Silver A Phil Bailey 1
2 Friary Guildford Chris King 4
3 Regent Alan Duguid 3
4 East London Brass Jayne Murrill 5
5 Sandhurst Silver Band Ian McElligott 8
6 Kortrijk Ward de Ketelaere 6
7 Ipswich & Norwich Co-op Band Ian Johnson 7
8 Brass Band Willebroek Frans Violet 2

Best Instrumentalist Tetsu Okamura – Trombone – Regent
Best Percussion Section Wantage Silver A
Best Euphonium Frederik Leroy – Kortrijk
Best Bass Section Regent
Conductors Prize Phil Bailey – Wantage Silver A